Colorado’s Ignition Interlock Device Restriction for DUI Offenders

Almost everyone whose driving privilege is revoked by Colorado’s DMV for driving under the influence is required to have an ignition interlock device installed in vehicles they own or co-own before they will be permitted to reinstate their license.

The interlock device is about the size of a large cell phone and is installed in the dashboard and attached to the ignition. The driver must blow into the device in order to start the car. In Colorado, if the device measures a breath alcohol content of .025 or above, the car will not start.  The devices are also programmed to take “rolling tests” in which the driver is required to blow into the interlock periodically while driving. If the device detects an excess alcohol level at that point, it will activate the horn and cause the lights to flash until the vehicle is shut off.

The interlock is imbedded with a microchip that records the occurrence of elevated alcohol levels. A licensed interlock provider must examine it at least once every 60 days, at which time the information is downloaded and sent to the Colorado DMV. Failure to submit to an examination every 60 days could result in a driver’s license suspension. In addition, the interlock restriction may be extended if the device detects alcohol on three or more occasions within a certain time period.

Ignition interlocks are available through private companies authorized by the state to lease the devices. A typical installation fee costs about $70, although some providers will install it for free. Smart Start, one of the largest ignition interlock providers in the state, currently charges around $70 per month for the lease. Financial assistance is available through the Department of Revenue for first offenders who cannot afford the interlock.

The length of time someone is required to use the interlock varies according to the offense. An experienced DUI defense attorney can advise you on the length of time you may be required to be on an interlock restriction depending on your charges.

Colorado ignition interlock restriction

My Denver DUI Lawyer

© Tiftickjian Law Firm, P.C. All Rights Reserved.
600 S. Cherry St. #1105, Denver, CO 80246
(303) 991-5896
This website is adverting.
Sitemap • MDDL v2.0GD

This site is presented by Tiftickjian Law Firm, P.C. No legal advise or counsel is contained in any of this site’s content. If you require legal assistance, you should contact an experienced Denver DUI attorney.