The Financial Cost of a DUI

4204530314_1114235af9

A conviction under Colorado driving under the influence (DUI) laws can have extremely serious legal consequences. Offenders may find themselves on probation, paying significant fines, attending mandatory drug or alcohol counseling sessions, and even spending time behind bars. While these penalties should be deterrent enough, the costs associated with the various ancillary matters that occur in conjunction with a DUI arrest can also be significant. In addition to the costs associated with the administration of a DUI, the legal fees associated with a DUI can also be substantial. While many offenders may be tempted to forgo an attorney and hope for the best, the reality is that the intervention of an attorney usually results in a much better outcome than you would obtain on your own. This is true even for first-time offenders. As a result, anyone facing a Colorado DUI case should discuss their options with a Denver DUI defense attorney as soon as possible after an arrest.

DUI Expenses

A DUI conviction can be extraordinarily expensive and put significant financial strain on a person and their family. According to materials published by the Colorado Department of Transportation, some of the financial costs associated with a 1st DUI include the following:

  •         $455 – Detoxification
  •         $90 – Chemical testing
  •         $143 – Towing
  •         $800 – Average fine for a first conviction
  •         $39 – Vehicle storage
  •         $30 – Jail fee
  •         $200 – Alcohol treatment evaluation
  •         $150 – Bail
  •         $600 – Probation supervision fee
  •         $78 – Victim Assistance Fund
  •         $25 – Victim Impact Panel
  •         $33 – Victim Compensation Fund
  •         $970 – Renting an ignition interlock device
  •         $90 – Law enforcement assistance fund
  •         $95 – License reinstatement
  •         $60 – Community service supervision fee
  •         $21 – License retesting
  •         $275 – PDD surcharge fee
  •         $3,000 – Average increase in insurance premiums over a 5 year period (based on driver who is 21-24 years old)
  •         $15 – Brain injury fund fee
  •         varies – Legal fees to a defense attorney

All told, the costs associated with a first time DUI can be in excess of $10,000. In addition, there may be significant collateral consequences as well. These consequences are those that are not directly imposed by the court, but nevertheless are a result of a DUI conviction. In addition to the general damage to your reputation that is associated with a DUI conviction, people who have a DUI on their criminal record may find it difficult to find employment, rent an apartment or a house, obtain certain state issued licenses, or make it more difficult to obtain a loan. Fortunately, there are often many ways that an experienced Denver DUI defense attorney can defend against allegations of drunk driving. In some cases, a lawyer may even be able to have the case against you completely dropped.

Call the Tiftickjian Law Firm Today to Schedule a Free Consultation

Whether you are facing your first or a subsequent DUI case, the legal team the Tiftickjian Law Firm, P.C. can help. Our lawyers are committed to helping people who are facing allegations of criminal misconduct bring their cases to the most favorable outcome possible. To schedule a free consultation with one of our Colorado DUI defense lawyers, call our office today at (303) 384-5280 or send us an email through our online contact form available here.

Photo Credit: the queen of subtle via Compfight cc

My Denver DUI Lawyer

© Tiftickjian Law Firm, P.C. All Rights Reserved.
600 S. Cherry St. #1105, Denver, CO 80246
(303) 991-5896
This website is adverting.
Sitemap • MDDL v2.0GD

This site is presented by Tiftickjian Law Firm, P.C. No legal advise or counsel is contained in any of this site’s content. If you require legal assistance, you should contact an experienced Denver DUI attorney.