While lawmakers in Colorado are trying to pass a law for felony DUI charges for multiple offenders, prosecutors are using other ways to seek out severe penalties for DUI offenders, especially if any aggravating circumstances exist in the case. One 57-year-old Denver woman is now facing nine years in state prison and an additional five years on parole after driving drunk and causing a crash last November.
Robbin Verser was driving at approximately 4:30 in the morning when she went through a red light and hit another SUV with her SUV. The 24-year-old driver of the other vehicle was reportedly on her way home from work and was presumed to have died upon impact. Verser’s blood alcohol content (BAC) was measured at .358 percent following the crash. Verser pleaded guilty to charges of vehicular homicide and received her sentence from the judge last week.
BAC well over the legal limit
Having a particularly high BAC is considered to be an aggravating factor in many Colorado DUI cases. The legal limit for DUI is 0.08 percent, however, individuals may even face charges of driving while ability impaired (DWAI) at only 0.04 percent. Anyone whose BAC measures at 0.20 percent or above can face enhanced penalties.
Verser’s BAC was well beyond even the enhanced limit under Colorado law, which likely played a significant determining role in her sentencing especially considering the accident resulted in another person’s death. Calculations estimate that, in order to have a 0.358 BAC, an average sized woman would need to drink 14 or more drinks over the course of a couple of hours.
Even if you have a high BAC or cause injury to another person during the alleged DUI, an experienced criminal defense attorney will still have ways to defend against your charges and against particularly harsh sentences. In such cases, a defendant should immediately seek out the highest quality of representation possible so they do not receive lengthy prison sentences and more. There are many ways to challenge BAC readings, officer protocol, and other evidence that the prosecutor may use to try to secure a severe sentence against you. You also want an attorney who is willing to defend your case at trial to avoid a wrongful conviction on your record.
Contact an experienced DUI defense lawyer in Denver for help today
If you have been arrested for any type of charge related to driving under the influence, your very first step should be to call a highly experienced DUI attorney who understands the laws and the criminal justice system in the Denver area. Though the felony DUI bill has not yet become law, courts and prosecutors find many other ways to aim for harsh sentences for DUI offenders. It is imperative that you have an attorney handling your case who knows how to mount an aggressive defense to limit the consequences you face. Please call skilled DUI attorney Jay Tiftickjian at the Tiftickjian Law Firm in Denver at 303-DUI-5280 to discuss how we can help with your case today.