Every year, 30,000 drivers are arrested in Colorado alone for driving while intoxicated or otherwise impaired. With the decriminalization of marijuana use and the recent increase in penalties for repeat impaired drivers, it is hard to keep all of the acronyms and penalties straight. Below is a breakdown of the charges that may be levied against you for impaired driving as well as their consequences.
What is a DUI?
DUI stands for driving under the influence. In some states, the term DWI (driving while intoxicated) is used to refer to the crime of driving after having too much to drink, but the term DUI is much more common in Colorado. People who are found to be operating a vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 or higher can receive a DUI. The penalties for a first DUI can include license suspension for up to 9 months, up to a $1000 fine, up to 1 year in jail, and mandatory alcohol education and community service. The penalties increase gradually for the second and third offenses, and you may also be required to have an IID (ignition interlock device) installed in your car starting with your second offense in order to test your sobriety before you drive. If you receive a fourth DUI in Colorado, you will be charged with a felony, and you can be fined up to $500,000 and may be required to serve up to six years in jail.
What is a DUID?
DUID stands for driving under the influence of drugs and covers pretty much any impairment that is the result of illegal – and sometimes even legal – drugs. DUIDs are becoming a more and more commonly alleged offense due to recent changes in marijuana regulations in Colorado. The penalties for a DUID vary depending on the drug and the specific facts of each case.
What is a DWAI?
DWAI stands for driving while ability impaired, and you can receive a DWAI if you are operating a vehicle while you have a BAC of more than .05 but lower than .08. A DWAI can land you in jail for six months and can result in a $500 fine and mandatory community service. Although your driver’s license is unlikely to get suspended just from a DWAI, a DWAI can cause up to eight points to be added to your license.
Get Help From an Experienced Denver Drunk Driving Attorney Today
Criteria for getting a DUI, DUID or DWAI can be even looser if you are under 21, and penalties can be even stronger if there is damage to property or injury to other people. Penalties can also depend on your willingness to seek alcohol treatment, the leniency of your judge and the quality of your DUI defense attorney.
No matter what acronym you are being accused of, the Colorado drunk driving attorneys at the Tiftickjian Law Firm can help get you the lowest sentence possible. Focusing on DUI defense, our experienced attorneys can help you if you are being accused of driving while impaired – or of any other crime. In order to set up a free case evaluation with one of our seasoned Colorado DUI attorneys, call the Tiftickjian Law Firm today at (303) DUI-5280.